My Graduate School

Well, I am officially a graduate student here in UNCCharlotte. I was influenced by one of the professor here who has helped me during my senior design project dealing with Shuttle Bus Tracking System. He showed me the importance of having a master degree in the Engineering now. Well, so I signed up for the program and got the acceptance.

Then we started on the Researching dealing with Body Area Networking. I was happy to have something to do over the summer, even though it was an unpaid job. We at least has the prototype working now. The prototype mimics a very simple, but well defined protocol for node connection and sending data. The coding was done in C using the Arduino open-source platform. It is a very good project to work on.

I was pretty happy to be in the program and take some class. Right now is October approaching November. I believe my time in the ECE department is pretty long. Hahaha, almost 5 years in this program. 4 Years as undergraduate student and half year as the graduate student. I feel good, even though a little bit sad for not getting any job.

It is strange that when i was still a senior student in the CompE undergrad student; i wasn’t really interested in getting job. I still feel like studying and not sitting in the office working. But now, after see all my friends gone for the working world, and seeing myself sitting in class doing nothing but study, i feel different. I feel more like to work now. Well, i guess my mind changes. Well, I’ll keep an eye on the job posts to see if i could get anything in the mean time while completing my degree as a master student in the electrical engineering.

During the summer time, i was being interviewed twice from Duke Energy and Well Fargo.

Well Fargo happened first. It was a fun experience. I was called and phone interviewed with some basic get-to-know questions. Yeah, they are basic, and they gave me a false sense of how hard getting the job would be. I knew it was the first round into the interview process, and yeah, i wasn’t aware of the technical part coming right after this process. They called me in for a in-person interview. It was a fun experience because i get the chance to talk to their employee, the one who interview me. He was kind, as he was my uncle’s friend. He asked me a few questions about Java programming in which i mostly have no clues of the answers. It was alright. I wasn’t really a Java-ready dev anyway. I thought they would provide some trainings to newbies like me. Unfortunately, they are looking for experienced Java dev to carry on their assignments in their company. I can understand. So after the interview, i knew by heart that i wasn’t a match candidate for their position. It was fun to be interviewed. I gain  experiences during these times. Well, good lesson to learn.

Second interview is performed by Duke Energy looking for ITA. Reading the description makes me feel like a good candidate. I got called to setup an interview and was happy to take the chance. The interview went smooth with me talking about myself, my life in america, and my classes in UNCC. I get the chance to understand about the whole Duke Corporation. They are big and challenging. I was taking to lunch with the interviewer. They are nice, but I didnt really know how to get into the conversation with the group, i feel left out. Or maybe their purpose was to see how the candidate performs during this eating time, formally and informally. Well, i figured out after the interview that i wasnt really an outspoken person. Well, another of my weakness.

Leave a comment